About the Enrolled Agent Exam.


Officially, it is known as the IRS Special Enrollment Exam.  However, everyone calls it the Enrolled Agent Exam.

How do I take the IRS Special Enrollment Exam (SEE)?

Thomson Prometric has been selected by the Internal Revenue Service to develop and administer the computer based Special Enrollment Examination. The examination is administered at one of over 900 Thomson testing centers through the U.S. The application form to take the examination as well as information about the examination can be found on their website at prometric.com/irs.

What is covered on the SEE?

The exam consists of three parts. Part 1 covers individual taxes including estate and gift tax. Part 2 covers taxes pertaining to businesses including sole proprietorships, partnerships, corporations, fiduciaries, and tax-exempt organizations. Part 3 covers representation before the IRS and practice and procedures of an enrolled agent.

What is the price of the Special Enrollment Exam?

Each part of the examination costs $105 ($315 for all three parts).

When can I take the Special Enrollment Exam?

The 2013 special enrollment examination period starts on May 1, 2013 and runs through February 28, 2014. You can schedule your test at any Thompson Prometric Testing Center between those dates.

Do I have to take all three parts of the SEE at the same time?

The three parts DO NOT have to be taken at once. You can take one part at a time. Once you have taken and passed one part, you have two years from the date of passing that part to take and pass the other two parts.

How many questions are on each part of the SEE?

There are 100 questions on each part of the SEE.

How much time do I have to take each part of the SEE?

Each exam is 3.5 hours long. The actual seat time is 4 hours to allow for a tutorial and survey.

Are some questions worth more points than others?

No. Each question is weighted equally.

What is the passing score for each part of the SEE?

There is no exact passing percentage for the exam. The examination is graded on a scale from 40 - 130. The passing score for each part is 105.

When will I know if I passed?

Instantaneously. You will be given your score right after you complete that part of the exam.

For more information, review the following:

Have more questions? Submit a request


Powered by Zendesk